South Africa

Update 3

20170724_160154
PBA & Ethnos Pretoria Team

Almost two weeks ago my team and I arrived back in the United States. Slowly I am adjusting to life in the States. The last month that I was in South Africa I was constantly feeling fatigue and dizziness due to various health issues. So, I was forced to take things slow during our outreaches. This was challenging and at times discouraging. However, God showed me how much he constantly cares for me through my team and the people around me.  Now that I am in the U.S. I am getting health checkups and will be finding a good doctor who can hopefully help me manage my different health issues.

Despite lots of sickness, our last month in South Africa was a whirlwind adventure. We had the opportunity to help put on a missions conference for the entire Ethnos mission organization. We also got to travel to seven out of the nine provinces in South Africa. My team travelled to a city called Roodepoort to do inner city outreach with a couple that provide early childhood development training for preschool teachers. We spent a week in Roodepoort under their leadership going to different preschools in the morning. There we taught the children about God and His incredible love for each of them. During these times we felt challenged by the language barrier, cultural differences, and even age differences. However, we enjoyed being able to sing, dance, and color with the children despite our differences.

20623505_10214216076059410_1473772310_o
Children’s Outreach in Roodepoort

In the afternoons we stayed at the Ethnos office in Roodepoort and led a holiday program for the children in the surrounding community. During this time we taught the children about the Bible. We focused on creation the love God has for all people. On the last day we shared with them the Gospel message. We also had the children make Gospel necklaces to remind them of the wonder of what Jesus did on the cross and His resurrection from the dead. This was a powerful reminder to each of us to share the love of Jesus with everyone.

We also travelled to George. While there my team had time where we were able to experience the beauty of South Africa. We also had the opportunity to meet with the leader of Ethnos and discuss the vision that he has for the organization. While there we also helped paint a house that had been burned from the recent fires that greatly affected a lot of the coastal cities.

20170720_101833
Rest Day in George

Before we returned to the U.S. we visited the city of Durban where one of our Ethnos leaders is from. His family welcomed us into their home and helped us to rest and process the past two months in South Africa. Before we knew it my team was on a plane headed back to the U.S. to go our separate ways. I sit in wonder at how at how God works. Through these past two months God has shown me so much about who He is and who I am as His daughter. I have seen and experienced a culture and place I never dreamed of going to. I have you all to thank for your prayers and support that brought my team and I all the way to South Africa and back. None of this would have been possible without you all.

Love well,

Janelle

 

 

Leave a Reply

